Sex Offender Restrictions When You’re Out on Parole in Texas
- October 30, 2019
- The Law Office of Greg Tsioros
- Comments Off on Sex Offender Restrictions When You’re Out on Parole in Texas
Waiting around for your parole hearing is stressful, but once you’ve gotten votes approving your release, you have a reason to get excited. Your freedom is within reach! Once you’ve been released on parole after a sex crime in Texas, you’ve got a lot of restrictions and rules that you’ll still have to deal with on the outside.
The last thing you want to do is unintentionally violate a rule or regulation. Doing so could result in a revocation of your parole. Instead, read up on everything you need to about sex offender restrictions when you’re out on parole in Texas below.
Your First Step After Getting Paroled: Registering as a Sex Offender
While you were behind bars, you likely thought of a lot of things you wanted to do first as soon as you got out of jail, like seeing your family, eating a good meal or taking a relaxing shower alone at home.
Getting registered as a sex offender with the local law enforcement agency probably wasn’t one of the top items on your list. Nevertheless, it’s something that needs to be a top priority upon your release. In Texas, you’re required to register within seven business days of being released from jail. To do so, you’ll have to make a visit to the local law enforcement authority in the town you plan to live in.
Here’s what to expect during this registration visit:
- You’ll need to visit the law enforcement agency in-person
- You will be asked to complete a DPS Sex Offender Registration Program Form (CR-35)
- The forms must be completed and signed in the presence of an officer
Are you still looking for a place to live? Don’t fret. There’s no penalty for being homeless when you register, but you’ll need to re-register the moment you find housing. Until then, you’ll be expected to report in-person to re-register every 30 days.
Sex Offender Restrictions When You’re Out on Parole in Texas
Once you’re free, it will feel so good not to have a correctional officer watching your every move. Despite that, you’ll still face heavy restrictions due to your status as a sex offender. You need to be hyper-vigilant about staying out of restricted zones, avoiding certain people and maintaining a good status with authorities in your area.
While you were incarcerated, you likely lost your job. If your former employer is willing to let you come back, then you’ll need to ensure that the occupation isn’t one that is prohibited due to your new status. There are specific restrictions when your crime involved a minor under 14-years-old.
Here are a few jobs you can’t hold as a sex offender:
- Operating a bus
- Operating a Taxi, limousine service or Uber car
- Providing services at a family residence
- Operating amusement park rides
You may also be further restricted by state and city “child safety zones.” These areas, which are frequented by children, should be avoided at all costs. If you enter into a child safety zone, then you could have your parole revoked.
You also won’t be allowed to reside on campus unless you’re a low-risk offender, and the institution itself has permitted the exception. Your parole board may or may not levy additional restrictions on where you can and can’t reside depending on your original crime. You’ll also need to check with the local city to see if they have any specific regulations.
As to be expected, you’re still obligated to never reach out to the victim of your original crime. Your parole officer will also give you a curfew. You’re not permitted to leave the county without approval.
Know When to Re-Register or Update Your Information
You’ve already registered with the local law enforcement agency and completed your paperwork. You’d expect everything to go smoothly until you re-register. This is usually the case, but you also need to be aware of when you need to update your information. If certain information changes, you’re expected to let the law enforcement authorities know within a week.
Here are some circumstances that will require you to update your status:
- Any name changes
- Any change of address
- A change in your physical health status (hospitalization or severe injury)
- Changes in employment status
- Changes in your educational status
- Change in vehicles
- Any changes in your online identifiers (more on this below)
You have seven days to report these changes. If you’re under supervision during parole, then your supervising officer should be able to assist you in notifying the proper parties.
Everything You Need to Know About Online Identifiers After Getting Paroled
Depending on your situation, you may be required to provide any and all online identifiers to your parole officer. An online identifier is any screen name, e-mail address or social media account that can be used to send messages through the internet. That means you’ll have to provide any of your chat-based app information to your parole officer. While you won’t be required to give up your passwords, you can expect your accounts to be monitored.
What Happens If I Violate Parole?
Have you been accused of violating the terms of your parole? If you fail to strictly follow the rules set out regarding the Texas Sex Offender Registration Program, then you could be charged with a felony crime.
Obviously, that’s the very last thing you want to happen after you’ve just been released from jail. Another felony charge could result in the revocation of your parole, and you may wind up directly back behind bars. Depending on how many felonies you already have on your record, another felony could result in devastating sentences like long-term incarceration.
If you have any questions or concerns about your parole or status as a sex offender, then it’s advised you reach out to an attorney right away. A good lawyer can help ensure you’re following all the rules and regulations according to Texas law.
Can a Texas Criminal Defense Attorney Help?
If you’ve recently been released from jail, then you need to learn everything about sex offender restrictions when you’re out on parole in Texas. A failure to comply, even if it’s unintentional, could result in severe penalties. The last thing you want to do is lose your newly found freedom again.
Have you been accused of violating sex offender restrictions in Texas? Do you have specific questions about registering as a sex offender? If so, then you could benefit from reaching out to a criminal defense attorney. A lawyer can help explain the law in easy to understand terms. An attorney can also help represent you in the event you have to return to court at a later date.